Construction Diary -- Part 1, The LED matrix/display

Original build of a televisor by a complete novice.

Moderators: Dave Moll, Andrew Davie, Steve Anderson

Construction Diary -- Part 1, The LED matrix/display

Postby Andrew Davie » Sat Jan 27, 2007 2:17 am

Well, here we go -- here I hope to record the things that happen as I embark on my attempt to build a mechanical TV. I should start by pointing out that I have absolutely no electronics skills whatsoever -- I'm very much a software guy, so this will be interesting.

I have been reading everything I could find on the 'net, and in particular I will be referring to the excellent construction tutorial on Peter Yanczer's site, along with the information on the NBTV.ORG website in the 'Handbook' section.

I have already purchased a Nipkow disk from Peter, along with a hub as shown on his website, and I believe I'm getting a motor and drive belts along with it. I'm based in Australia, but these parts are in the USA at the moment. I expect to see them in a month... or three.

There's a gorgeous mechanical TV that I'm using as my 'fondest desire' target. If I can make anything like this, I'll be thrilled...

The above by Alan Rosser, as recently reported on the NBTV site.

Here's how I understand the system will work, in summary.

A CD player providing stereo input via an RCA jack, with the left channel holding NBTV 32-line video, and the right channel holding sound. I'll use a club CD for test patterns initially, and develop my own software for conversion of arbitrary video later.

The sound channel is fed through a separate sound amplifier controlled by a volume knob.

The video signal consists of synch pulses of 0.3V 'height' (and please bear with me, I know nothing about electronics), merged with an actual picture signal that ranges from the top of the synch pulse at 0.3V up to 1.0V. That is, the range of the video itself is 0.7V.