Construction Diary -- Part 2, Spinning the Nipkow Disc

Original build of a televisor by a complete novice.

Moderators: Dave Moll, Andrew Davie, Steve Anderson

Construction Diary -- Part 2, Spinning the Nipkow Disc

Postby Andrew Davie » Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:14 pm

I started tonight thinking about how electric motors work, and how to hook up my Nipkow disk. Fortunately, just about all the work has been done for me already.

Firstly, I noted that the sample motor control circuit (see http://www.taswegian.com/NBTV/forum/viewtopic.php?t=122 ) has 12V powering the motor. I figured I'd give the two motors I have a go (these were kindly supplied by Peter Yanczer with the Nipkow disk I bought from him).

While I was rather tentative at first (no explosion?...! great) after a while it became obvious that electric motors were a no-brainer. I plugged it in to the 12V supply. It spun. After I'd had a bit of a play trying to stop the motor with my fingers (testing the torque), I figured I might as well hook up the Nipkow disk to the hub thingy, and then hook up the disk to the motor via a rubber belt (all held in my hands).

It's a bit tricky juggling, but I can report a few observations...

1) Holding a spinning nipkow disk, an electric motor, and keeping a rubber pully/belt aligned and tensioned between the two is very difficult.
2) Rapidly spinning Nipkow disks are dangerous!!!!

I have no idea how rapidly the disk was spinning in the end, but I did get a good feel for what sort of tension was required in the belt to give good 'traction', and got a fair idea of where, relatively, the motor would need to be mounted.