Linear Sweep Using Tubes for 60-Line CRT Display

Forum for discussion of narrow-bandwidth mechanical television

Moderators: Dave Moll, Andrew Davie, Steve Anderson

Linear Sweep Using Tubes for 60-Line CRT Display

Postby cameramanlink » Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:25 pm

This is my first time posting to this forum, and I have read some of the posts related to the topic of displaying NBTV signals on CRTs. I decided to join because I'm having difficulty with my display project and I'm hoping you can help me out.

Here's the story: I wanted to record video images onto audio cassettes and reel-to-reel tape, and I needed to build a device that would display the playback signal coming from the tape deck. I build exclusively with tubes (which you would know if you saw my YouTube channel) so I started with a converter box for displaying on a Heathkit IO-12 scope. After a modification to the front-end circuitry of my converter, I was able to get a pretty good image from my Akai reel-to-reel. I have no interest in 3 things: playback from the computer soundcard (defeats the purpose of displaying NBTV in my opinion - why watch low-definition unless there's a reason, like it was recorded on audio tape. Computers are used for too much stuff in my opinion), 32-line display (unusual aspect ratio and low resolution), and mechanical scanning (I'm only interested in electronics). Having said that, I'm having trouble with the electronic scanning specifically.