Mindsets Televisor

Forum for discussion of narrow-bandwidth mechanical television

Moderators: Dave Moll, Andrew Davie, Steve Anderson

Mindsets Televisor

Postby mikew8760 » Sat Aug 07, 2021 12:53 am

I was recently given a Mindsets Televisor kit by a friend. He is interested in Baird's work and thought this would be a good visual aid, having seen the "Grand Illusions" Youtube demo. My involvement was 'simply' to put the kit together!
Despite a lot of fiddling I have never been able to obtain a stable image, as expected. The only image which can be synced is the on-board "Test Card". I have some knowledge of electronics, and it seems that my kit has a fault. I've sent a couple of emails to Mindsets who gave replies, but no offer of any useful information.
Hence my problem is to try and find some info on this kit to assist troubleshooting. I've reverse engineered part of the circuit board, but am disinclined to spend hours to do the the rest. I wonder if anyone who has this kit would be willing and able to produce 'scope waveforms at important points for comparison?
On a slightly different tack, can anyone explain the purpose of the missing line on the Nipkow disk? I get the impression it's for frame sync, but cannot find anything in the circuitry that might achieve this; no doubt I'm looking in the wrong place!
mikew8760
"Fester, enough of the light-bulbs!"

Re: Mindsets Televisor

Postby Dave Moll » Sat Aug 07, 2021 10:30 pm

This may be a case of "teaching grandmothers to suck eggs", but have you checked that the polarity of your input signal is correct? Many audio sources invert the signal they output - which makes no difference for audio (as long as both channels of stereo are the same polarity), but means that NBTV is trying to interpret video as synch and vice versa.

You are correct that the "missing synch" pulse is for frame synchronisation, though I'm not sufficiently familiar with the circuitry of the Mindsets unit to know how this is handled.
Dave Moll